Crooked Scottsman

March 31, 2010 at 2:18 pm Leave a comment


I am kind of attached to the whole “crooked” angle for naming beer. I’ve made a Crooked Rooster Ale, and now on to the Crooked Scottsman. This one is a Scottish style export ale, weighing in at ~1.052, I used the following for my grain bill:

7.5lb Pale Malt
.75lb Wheat Malt
.5lb Crystal 40ºL
.25lb Roasted Barley

I mashed at 158° for 45 min and sparged to give me around 7.5 gallons in the boil kettle. I decided to do a 90 min boil, and as for the hops, I threw in:

1oz Chinook @ 60 min

because I didn’t have any english style hops. On a sidenote, this is the first brew where I didn’t have to go to my LHBS to get supplies. With the grain mill and yeast in stock, I just ground the grain, made a yeast starter, and now I’m brewing! It’s pretty sweet!

Entry filed under: Tidbits.

Irish Immigrant Stout A Virtual BrewSculpture Emurges

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feelin' The Love

  • 98,561 people love the homebrew

The Cellar

-ON TAP-
Raspberry Brown
Quadrupel

-IN THE BOTTLE-
F I R E M E A D
Sweet Raspberry Mead
Tension Tamer Mead
Ginger Mead
Raspberry Peach Mead
Imperial Stout

-BARREL AGING-
Flanders Brown

-FERMENTING-

-NEXT UP-
Barley Wine
Stout

Top Clicks

  • None

