Irish Immigrant Stout

March 24, 2010 at 3:17 pm 2 comments


image

Well, there it is! My first home-crushed grains! I just bought a grain mill (from Monster) and I really love the versatility it gives me! As long as I am stocked up on yeast and have grains on hand, I no longer need to take a trip to the brew store to make a batch of beer! After you mill grains, they are only good for about a week, and so being able to mill them at home is a big advantage for me.

Today I am brewing  Dry Stout. I started with a Guinness clone and sort-of made it my own. So it’s an americanized Dry stout, hence the name, Irish Immigrant Stout. I can’t wait to give it a try in a few weeks! It’s been too long since I brewed. This whole job-thing really cuts into my free time.

Entry filed under: Tidbits.

2010 Is Off to a Good Start Crooked Scottsman

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. reverendtenhigh  |  June 22, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    It is nice to have your own mill @ home, isn’t it? 🙂 In my experience tho, if you keep your crushed grain dry, airtight, and out of the light (and i don’t know if the last one is really a requirement) it stays good for quite some time. I just brewed a batch with store milled 2 row that was over two months old and still got 80% efficiency. 80% is what i usually run, with that store’s crush, and I adjusted my grist for degradation of the malt, i think i put it @ 72 or 70% and waaay overshot my OG 🙂 I just added more hops and made an IPA instead of a pale, nbd! Anyway,I think it has more to do with storage, but please correct me if i’m wrong. Does something happen once the grain is crushed that removing the elements can’t stop?

    Reply
    • 2. Alex  |  June 22, 2010 at 9:26 pm

      I guess I don’t know for sure. I am working off knowledge I got from my old local homebrew store. It could be the case that it is fine, But I was told that crushed grains were only good a matter of weeks after crushing whereas before crushing grain is good for a year or two.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feelin' The Love

  • 98,589 people love the homebrew

The Cellar

-ON TAP-
Raspberry Brown
Quadrupel

-IN THE BOTTLE-
F I R E M E A D
Sweet Raspberry Mead
Tension Tamer Mead
Ginger Mead
Raspberry Peach Mead
Imperial Stout

-BARREL AGING-
Flanders Brown

-FERMENTING-

-NEXT UP-
Barley Wine
Stout

Top Clicks

  • None

