Pumpkin Cyser Fail

December 6, 2009 at 11:22 pm 1 comment


So the wonderful pumpkin Cyser that I opened on thanksgiving had issues. Mainly, the mold. It was too bad to crack it open and find a nice layer of mold on the pumpkin and dots on the liquid. What went wrong? Here’s what I have figured:

  • I killed the yeast (campden tablets) and then added more honey when I put it in the pumpkin. Therefore, I had a perfect breeding ground for organisms and no live yeast to counter it.
  • I stored it at room temperature. The perfect temperature for most molds and wild yeasts. I did cover it with plastic wrap, but I am under no illusions that that helped the situation. It did keep the fruit flies off though.
  • The wax did not seal. I melted a candle around the opening, but when I opened it up, I was surprised that the top came right off. Maybe there is a better wax I can use next time that is a bit more flexible or sticky or something.

I’m really glad that I did this experiment. And don’t misunderstand, I did still drink it. And it was tasty. I added 4 cinnamon sticks, a clove, and an allspice ball. It could have used even more spice. But it was a nice, semi-dry cyser. Next time I will either do the primary fermentation in the pumpkin or refrigerate the pumpkin. Something to combat the wild microbes.

Entry filed under: Batches.

Spiced Apple Cyser Update Olde Engrish |or| How I Made a Malt Liquor

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Danno  |  December 7, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    It was tasty, and I’m still alive! A+

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feelin' The Love

  • 98,589 people love the homebrew

The Cellar

-ON TAP-
Raspberry Brown
Quadrupel

-IN THE BOTTLE-
F I R E M E A D
Sweet Raspberry Mead
Tension Tamer Mead
Ginger Mead
Raspberry Peach Mead
Imperial Stout

-BARREL AGING-
Flanders Brown

-FERMENTING-

-NEXT UP-
Barley Wine
Stout

Top Clicks

  • None

