Tension Tamer Metheglin – Batch 008

March 17, 2008 at 10:20 am 2 comments


I finally got up the supplies and urge to do another batch of mead. I should mention that I tried a little bit of the Sweet Raspberry Mead when my brother and his wife came to town and it is so good! I cannot wait for it to age a few years, it will only get better. I will have to make another 3 gallons soon.

On to the metheglin:
Tension Tamer Tea

I love Celestial Seasonings tea. So why not make a mead out of it? Here’s the recipe for 3 gallons of mead:

3½  lbs orange blossom honey
3 lbs wildflower honey
24  tension tamer tea bags
1 tsp yeast nutrient
½ tsp yeast energizer
Lalvin EC-1118
water to make 3 gallons

I used the heat pasteurization method. I brought 2½ gallons of water to a boil for 10 minutes. I then removed it from the heat and added the honey along with the nutrient and energizer. I then let this sit for 30 minutes to pasteurize. During this time I added the tea, 12 bags at a time, for 7 minutes each. I took a reading with the hydrometer to find the OG at 1.077.

I didn’t think ahead enough to make a starter, so I settled for re-hydrating the yeast at 100° for 15 min while I cooled the must with my wort cooler. I cooled it to 68° and pitched the yeast. That’s all there is to it! I may try bottling it in about 2-3 months instead of waiting longer. This after hearing that Redstone Meadery only ages their nectars for 3 months before bottling.

I think I may have to make another batch of mead soon, perhaps another melomel. It goes fast after I start to share it!

Entry filed under: Batches. Tags: , , , , .

Woohoo! The Sweet-Ass Brewpot Is Here! Updates

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mikethehomebrewer  |  March 17, 2008 at 10:40 am

    They only do 3 months of aging? Sweetness! We’re almost at 4mos with our mead, so that’s some great news.

    I can’t wait to crack open that nectar of the hops mead tomorrow too. It’s sounding tastier by the minute.

    Reply
  • 2. Alex  |  March 17, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    yeah, just their nectar line which is their 8% sparkling meads. For the traditional still meads, they age it at least 8 months and have a line of dessert meads they age 2-4 years.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feelin' The Love

  • 98,589 people love the homebrew

The Cellar

-ON TAP-
Raspberry Brown
Quadrupel

-IN THE BOTTLE-
F I R E M E A D
Sweet Raspberry Mead
Tension Tamer Mead
Ginger Mead
Raspberry Peach Mead
Imperial Stout

-BARREL AGING-
Flanders Brown

-FERMENTING-

-NEXT UP-
Barley Wine
Stout

Top Clicks

  • None

