Updates

March 11, 2008 at 1:14 am Leave a comment


I’ve added a note to the Fly Sparge HowTo Post. This was because I used galvanized steel on the sparge tank and I really shouldn’t. So stainless steel or copper will replace that when I get the chance (and money). Here’s the note:

A note on materials: I used the aluminum stock pot because I have it. Aluminum is not as terrible as people think and I have no problem using it for my sparge water. CPVC is good up to 200° and so it is fine for everything up to boiling, and sparge water doesn’t go hotter than 180°. Stainless steel and copper are both good for all brewing purposes, galvanized is not, it rusts (although it is used for water lines; I’m not sure how that works).

Entry filed under: Brewing Gadgets, Tidbits. Tags: , , , , , .

How To Convert a Retired Sanke (1/2 bbl) 15 Gallon Keg Into A Boil Kettle Stiff Cider Update

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feelin' The Love

  • 98,589 people love the homebrew

The Cellar

-ON TAP-
Raspberry Brown
Quadrupel

-IN THE BOTTLE-
F I R E M E A D
Sweet Raspberry Mead
Tension Tamer Mead
Ginger Mead
Raspberry Peach Mead
Imperial Stout

-BARREL AGING-
Flanders Brown

-FERMENTING-

-NEXT UP-
Barley Wine
Stout

Top Clicks

  • None

