Updates

March 6, 2008 at 11:52 am 2 comments


So I went down to Hops and Berries to pick up a compression valve for Mike’s new boil kettle I scored for him, and I also picked up a few gallon jugs for my raspberry mead. I did this because it was in the 2.8 gallon carboy and was only filling that about 1/2 way. So I racked the mead into the (2) gallon jugs and what space was left I decided to fill with water so there was no airspace to create oxidation. One was 1.5 cups added and the other was just a tad.

I also bottled the lemonade. I did it a little bit hap-hazardously though. I added 3/16 cup priming sugar straight in (I was too lazy to boil it). I also added a little of the raspberry mead in there because it sounded good. It didn’t taste all that great either. I even forgot to take a reading on it. Oh well, it has to be about the same, as I saw no bubbles come out since I racked it.

Well, as you can probably tell, this post is pretty poorly written too. Off to bed after I post these updates in their respective posts.

Entry filed under: Tidbits. Tags: , , , , .

Where To Find It How To Convert a Retired Sanke (1/2 bbl) 15 Gallon Keg Into A Boil Kettle

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mikethehomebrewer  |  March 6, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    Sweet. 🙂 How tall is the keg btw? It looks like it might be more than a smidge over 2′ and therefore mean I need to migrate away from the kitchen stove.

    How’d you like using propane as your heating source for the all-grain recipe? Don’t you get better temperature control with that as opposed to an electric burner?

    Reply
  • 2. Alex  |  March 11, 2008 at 1:04 am

    The keg is 24″ x 15″ x 15″. The kitchen stove won’t work. The propane burner is the way to go, it works great. Check Home Depot, they have some on clearance (at least here) and I got mine with a 6 gallon (aluminum) pot that I use for sparge water for under $40. Aluminum is not as bad as everyone makes it out to be. I wouldn’t use it for beer, but feel fine using it to hold water.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feelin' The Love

  • 98,561 people love the homebrew

The Cellar

-ON TAP-
Raspberry Brown
Quadrupel

-IN THE BOTTLE-
F I R E M E A D
Sweet Raspberry Mead
Tension Tamer Mead
Ginger Mead
Raspberry Peach Mead
Imperial Stout

-BARREL AGING-
Flanders Brown

-FERMENTING-

-NEXT UP-
Barley Wine
Stout

Top Clicks

  • None

