007 – Clementine’s Molasses Porter

March 3, 2008 at 11:25 am 4 comments


Well, the day is here and it is time to find out if I can make a decent all-grain beer! I have my grains all converted and it is time to sparge as we speak! First a bit of catch-up:

The Recipe:

11 ½ lbs. pale malt
1 lb crystal malt (60L)
3/4 lb. chocolate malt
1/3 lb. black patent malt
1 cup blackstrap molasses
½ tsp Irish Moss
Hops:
2 oz. hallertauer (whole) @ 60 min
½ oz. Cascade (whole) @ 10 min
Yeast:
American Ale Yeast (Dry)

Target gravity: 1.060
Target IBU’s: 36.2

Method:

Step Mash

50 min at 147° followed by 1 hr 50 min at 153°. My 147° was a little closer to 149°. 153° was right on. I got this schedule from the book The Brewer’s Companion by Randy Mosher. This book is a must have when you get to all-grain!

007 pic 1

Sparge

5 gallons of sparge water at 180° for a total of 45 min of time. It actually was only about 25 minutes…I’ll have to work on that and see how big a deal timing is on that. The sparge arm worked like a champ though! I may have drilled too many/ too big holes.

007 pic 2

Boil

90 min boil with the following additions:
2 oz hallertauer at 90 min
1/2 tsp irish moss at 15 minutes
0.5 oz cascade at 10 min
The new burner seems to work alright and it looks like it is boiling away happily although I cannot see the liquid because of all the steam because it is only 30° outside…

007 pic 3

Whoops! I only ended up with 3.5 gallons of wort after the boil. I’ll have to devise a better way of working that out…I added tap water to bring it up to 5.5 gallons.

Icooled with the wort chiller to 75° in 17 minutes. I pitched the yeast and then cleaned up.

Well, that was quite the experience. It gives me a new appreciation for extract brewing – it’s much quicker, that’s for sure. But it was a good experience and the beer will be wonderful. It’s a good feeling to know I took grains and made beer all by myself.

03/16/08

Today I racked Clementine’s Porter. I sneaked a taste and was very pleased. It is very chocolatey with just a hint of molasses. Very good indeed. The SG was 1.011. I will bottle next weekend.

03/23/08

I’m bottling Clementine’s Porter today. I’ve decided to do 3 gallons with the normal proportion of dextrose sugar, but for the other 2 gallons I am priming with molasses (at the rate of 1 cup per 5 gallons). I’m only doing two gallons of the molasses-primed stuff because I think it may overpower the beer. But it may be perfect – who knows…

Entry filed under: Batches. Tags: , , , , , .

Stiff Cider 1000+!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mikethehomebrewer  |  March 3, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Damn, you really went all out on the first one with the multiple rest temps and everything. Very nice. I think I’ll try batch sparging on the next batch before getting all crazy with the fly sparging like you. 😉

    Wouldn’t you need flowmeters on the input and the output to make sure they match for the fly sparging to give you that boost in efficiency over batch sparging?

    Dude, 30 deg outside? You should totally make a lager! You’d need a lot of blankets on it or something at night, but damn that’d be sweet.

    Reply
  • 2. Alex  |  March 4, 2008 at 2:29 am

    I have a flowmeter – my eyes 😀
    You’re probably right, it probably isn’t the most efficient setup, I’m working on it…Now that I have a job I can spend money a little more readily.

    As for lagering, I have thought about it, but I would probably still need some sort of temperature regulation (AKA blankets…) The temperature is all over though. it was 74 the day before I brewed 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Updates «  |  March 17, 2008 at 10:28 am

    […] March 17, 2008 · No Comments Today I racked Clementine’s Porter. I sneaked a taste and was very pleased. It is very chocolatey with just a hint of molasses. Very good indeed. The SG was 1.011. This will also be on the original 007 post. […]

    Reply
  • 4. Clementine’s Molasses Porter - Bottling 007 «  |  March 24, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    […] go ahead and stick this with the 007 post. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feelin' The Love

  • 98,561 people love the homebrew

The Cellar

-ON TAP-
Raspberry Brown
Quadrupel

-IN THE BOTTLE-
F I R E M E A D
Sweet Raspberry Mead
Tension Tamer Mead
Ginger Mead
Raspberry Peach Mead
Imperial Stout

-BARREL AGING-
Flanders Brown

-FERMENTING-

-NEXT UP-
Barley Wine
Stout

Top Clicks

  • None

