Change of Plans

February 14, 2008 at 10:04 am 2 comments


Due to a lack of funds, I am postponing the porter until I can get some money for a propane tank and ingredients. In the meantime, I’m going to brew up some more mead. I’m thinking of venturing into Metheglins (mead with spices). Further, I thought I should keep it local, and I know that I can get Colorado honey at Hops and Berries, my local brewing supply store. The question was where to get my spices. And then it hit me: who is the best at mixing exquisite spices? Celestial Seasonings. I’m going to make a Tension Tamer Metheglin. I just think this sounds terrific! So, I still need to get in the good graces of my wife to budget in the supplies, but this is the next batch unless I find a propane tank before I get my honey.

Just a little factoid for you today: Tension Tamer Tea actually has hops and catnip in it. Who knew? If you live around Boulder, CO or pass through it, definitely take the tour. It’s a lot of fun and all the tea you can drink! And then go to Redstone Meadery just down the road. Both very good tours.

Entry filed under: Tidbits. Tags: , , , , , .

RoMo IPA Bottled Priming Sugars

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ian  |  February 15, 2008 at 9:13 am

    Dude, I was thinking Celestial Seasonings before I read it/you typed it. Great idea! Too bad CS is no longer run by hippies who collect local spices in the mountains and sell them in burlap sacks.

    Reply
  • 2. mikethehomebrewer  |  February 16, 2008 at 10:19 am

    dude, that’s a sweet idea. the only way you could possibly make it mellower would be to add some kava. šŸ™‚ mmmm….

    so we just tried the irish stout that we dry hopped last night and it kicked some serious ass. Now that I’m all on the wordpress interweb now I’ll get it posted to my own personal blogonet:
    mikethehomebrewer.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feelin' The Love

  • 98,561 people love the homebrew

The Cellar

-ON TAP-
Raspberry Brown
Quadrupel

-IN THE BOTTLE-
F I R E M E A D
Sweet Raspberry Mead
Tension Tamer Mead
Ginger Mead
Raspberry Peach Mead
Imperial Stout

-BARREL AGING-
Flanders Brown

-FERMENTING-

-NEXT UP-
Barley Wine
Stout

Top Clicks

  • None

