Clementine’s Molasses Porter – Round II

February 5, 2008 at 12:35 pm 5 comments


So this next batch will be my first batch of all-grain beer. I though it fitting to pull out a batch I already did and try to improve it.

Clementine’s Brew Kettle

The original Recipe:

3 ½ lb light malt extract
3 ½ lb amber malt extract
1 lb crystal malt (60L)
½ lb. chocolate malt
¼ lb. Black Patent Malt
½ cup blackstrap molasses
2 cups dark brown sugar
1 tsp gypsum
½ tsp Irish Moss
Hops:
1 oz. liberty (pellets) @ 60 min
½ oz. Cascade (pellets) @ 0 min
Yeast:
American Ale Yeast (Dry)

The biggest question is how I will replace the amber extract. I think I want a little more of a chocolatey note in the beer, so I’ll make up lost color with more chocolate malt (1 lb).

So on to creating my recipe:
I want to match the OG of the original, 1060. To do this, I’ll find the number of total gravity units I need to create the desired OG. First, I need to convert the extract potential of my fermentables into Gravity Units (GU’s). All a GU is is subtracting 1 from the number and then multiplying by 1000. Thus, 1.030 becomes 30 GU’s.

next I multiply by gallons of the wort of the final batch:
5.5 gal of final volume after boil * 60 GU desired OG = 330 TGU (total gravity units)
What this means is that I need to get 330 TGU’s from all of the combined fermentable ingredients.

Now that I know how many TGU’s I need, I’ll work backwards a bit to find how many GU’s the specialty grains will cover:
[eq: lbs of malt = GU’s contributed by this malt / (extract potential of malt GU’s * mash efficiency %)]

  • 1 lb crystal: 1 = x / (34 * 0.68) = 23.1
  • 1 lb chocolate: 1 = x / (30 * 0.68) = 20.4
  • .25 lb black: 0.25 = x / (27 * 0.68) = 4.6

These add up to a total of 48 GU’s of the total 330. That means I want to add 282 more GU’s worth of base malt.

  • Pale Malt: x=282 / (36 * 0.68) = 11.5 lbs of pale malt

So here is my revised recipe:

11 ½ lbs. pale malt
1 lb crystal malt (60L)
1 lb. chocolate malt
¼ lb. black patent malt
1 ½ cups blackstrap molasses
1 tsp gypsum
½ tsp Irish Moss
Hops:
1 oz. liberty (pellets) @ 60 min
½ oz. Cascade (pellets) @ 0 min
Yeast:
American Ale Yeast (Dry)

You may have noticed I got rid of the brown sugar. This is because sucrose (table sugar) does not add any desirable qualities to a beer, and the flavor that I want from brown sugar is actually just the molasses. I could boil the brown sugar and add it for some caramel/molasses flavoring, but I’ll just take it out and add more molasses. I am also going to try using molasses as priming sugar for half the batch (assuming preliminary tastings go well), just to see how that turns out. I want this to be MOLASSES porter. but not overly so.

The BU’s of the last batch were around 20, and I liked where it was or perhaps a little higher (~25 IBU). I am going to switch the bittering hops to an English variety however. I’ll go with golding, challenger, fuggle, or maybe go with northern brewer. We’ll see what I can find down at Hops and Berries.

I’ll boil for 90 minutes, to get some more caramelization going.

I’m not going to brew this for a week or two. I’ll try to have some camera action so I can well document my first all-grain attempt though.

Entry filed under: Batches. Tags: , , , , .

Propane Burner, Updates RoMo IPA Bottled

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Priming Sugars «  |  February 19, 2008 at 3:09 am

    […] or using anything but dextrose for priming, but I hope to do so in the near future, namely in Clementine’s Molasses Porter in which I want to use some molasses to […]

    Reply
  • 2. reverendtenhigh  |  January 27, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    what were your results priming w/ molasses on this brew? i’m a week out from priming my winter ale from homebrewers recipe guide (winter wonderland) that suggests using molasses as a priming sugar. i read mixed thoughts on it around the web but no actual personal experience. any feedback would be appreciated!

    Reply
    • 3. Alex  |  January 29, 2010 at 1:14 am

      I found the molasses-primed beer to be very good. That is to say that if you are looking for something a bit rare and interesting, go for it! It produced a beer that was very molasses forward. In my molasses porter, that is exactly what I wanted. But make no mistake; it is not subtle. You have to be interested in a beer with fairly strong molasses tones. Maybe try a mix of molasses and priming sugar to get some added flavor components, but not overdo it. Best of luck!

      Reply
      • 4. reverendtenhigh  |  February 5, 2010 at 8:25 am

        Hey thanks for the reply! After racking and tasting, the beer is aweseome right now as it is so I’m a bit hesitant to prime with molasses and ruin the whole batch…hesitant but not scared 🙂 I’m going to prime with a couple tablespoons of molasses and a normal dose of dark brown sugar or light molasses. The research i’ve done basically showed that you cannot predict the fermentables in molasses, every molasses is different with a maximum of 50% fermentable sugars. brown sugar is sugar with some molasses added back in but is 90% fermentable. I like my beer a little on the drier side so i’m going this route. i’m just getting started with the blog, but you can check out reverendtenhigh.wordpress.com. i should have the write up for this one up within the next couple days

      • 5. Alex  |  February 5, 2010 at 4:39 pm

        Sounds good. I may do molasses along with corn sugar instead of the brown sugar just because table sugar is not the best to use (See a discussion here: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/priming-sugars-60775/ ), But that being said, it’s a moot point and probably not something you will notice a difference on. My thinking is that if you were to use a bit of molasses and the rest corn sugar, then you may have better control over the results as well, as you know the exact amount of molasses that was put in. Either way you do it, good luck and tell me how it ends up tasting! I found that this was one beer that aged very nicely, and over time the molasses flavors mellowed out a bit giving a more rounded beer about 6 months after bottling (if you can make it last that long – I just lost some for a few months and found it later). Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feelin' The Love

  • 98,561 people love the homebrew

The Cellar

-ON TAP-
Raspberry Brown
Quadrupel

-IN THE BOTTLE-
F I R E M E A D
Sweet Raspberry Mead
Tension Tamer Mead
Ginger Mead
Raspberry Peach Mead
Imperial Stout

-BARREL AGING-
Flanders Brown

-FERMENTING-

-NEXT UP-
Barley Wine
Stout

Top Clicks

  • None

